2024-06-18 – 19:30 h


One of the most celebrated Japanese composers of our time, Joe Hisaishi has produced music for 10 Hayao Miyazaki films, including Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind (1984), and has also composed the music for Takeshi Kitano films. His credits include Sonatine (1993), the Oscar-winning Spirited Away (2001) and Departures (2008). Hisaishi conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra – CSO in his much-anticipated latest symphony alongside musical highlights from his most captivating compositions.


  • Chicago Symphony Orchestra
  • Joe Hisaishi, Conductor
  • Diana Newman, Soprano


  • Hisaishi – Symphonic Variation “Merry-Go-Round” from Howl’s Moving Castle
  • Hisaishi – Symphony No. 3 (Metaphysica)
  • Hisaishi – DA-MA-SHI-E
  • Hisaishi – Princess Mononoke Suite