2022-07-31 – 14:05 h

Returning after his Pioneers of Sound and sci-fi film music Proms, Robert Ames conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for the first-ever Gaming Prom. The Royal Albert Hall will be transformed into a vast sonic chamber in a mini-history of gaming, from classic console titles of the 1980s to the latest release in the Battlefield franchise. Composer Austin Wintory will be present at the concert.


The program will be as follows:

  • Matt Rogers (AKA gameshow outpatient) / Tim Follin, arr. Matt Rogers – Loading Chronos (BBC Commission: world premiere) – (8’)
  • Koji Kondo, arr. Nic Raine – The Legend of Zelda – (5’)
  • Chaines Tribute to Pokémon, Ecco, and Secret of Mana – (10’)
    • Original compositions by Junichi Masuda, Hiroki Kikuta, Spencer Nilsen, Attila Dobos, András Magyari, David Javelosa and Andy Armer
  • Nobuo Uematsu, arr. Andrew Skeet – Final Fantasy VIII: Liberi Fatali – (5’)
  • Kow Otani, arr. Tomomichi Takeoka – Shadow of the Colossus Suite (8’)
  • Yoko Shimomura, orch. Kaoru Wada – Kingdom Hearts (4’)
  • Austin Wintory – Excerpts from Traveller – A Journey Symphony (World Premiere) (15’)
  • Hildur Gudnadóttir & Sam Slater, arr. Robert Ames – Selections from Battlefield 2042 (European Premiere) – (14’)
  • Jessica Curry, arr. Jim Fowler – I Have Begun My Ascent / The Leaving (from ‘Dear Esther’/ ‘So Let Us Melt’) – (5’)


When: Monday, August 1, 2022 at 19:30h

Where: Royal Albert Hall (London, UK)

Tickets: 10-65 GBP (12-77 €) – https://www.royalalberthall.com/tickets/proms/bbc-proms-2022/prom-21-gaming-prom-from-8-bit-to-infinity

More information: https://www.bbc.co.uk/events/erjv9r


NOTE: The concert will be broadcast on BBC Four on Friday 5 August