2022-01-11 – 13:00 h

The Czech National Symphony Orchestra conducted by Carl Davis, with the participation of trumpet soloist Jan Hasenöhrl, will premiere tomorrow the piece ‘The Great Gatsby ballet suite’ at the Municipal House – Smetana Hall in Prague.


The first half of the concert will present ‘The Great Gatsby ballet suite’, the score to a ballet show based on themes from Fitzgerald’s celebrated novel The Great Gatsby, which features elements of jazz, swing as well as symphonic music for the stage.


After a break, the orchestra will reconvene bringing along compositions by a number of contemporary American giants in the field of film music production and perform suites from several legendary films.


The program will be as follows:

  • Carl Davis – The Great Gatsby (world premiere of the concert performance of The Great Gatsby ballet suite)
  • Joe Zawinul – Birdland
  • Bobby Shew – Nadalin
  • The Beatles – Norwegian Wood
  • Henry Mancini – Two for the Road
  • Jerry Goldsmith – Chinatown
  • John Williams – Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (The Cantina Band)
  • Jackie Gleason – I’ll Be Seeing You
  • Marvin Hamlisch – One (A Chorus Line musical)


When: Wednesday, January 12, 2022 at 19:30h

Where: Municipal House – Smetana Hall (Prague, Czech Republic)

Tickets: 150-650 CZK (6-27 €) – https://www.cnso.cz/en/program/concert-season/season-29/ii-koncert