Soundtrack of our Lives: A Celebration For The Film & TV Music Community 2020

Today, Thursday, June 25, 2020, a very special free event named ‘Soundtrack of our Lives: A Celebration For The Film & TV Music Community’ will take place online on YouTube, in benefit for MusiCares COVID-19 Relief Fund.

‘Soundtrack of our Lives: A Celebration For The Film & TV Music Community 2020’


Members of the Film & TV Music community, made up of composers, songwriters, music editors, music supervisors, studio executives and more, are contributing their talents to the event; members whose scores and songs transport, inspire, uplift, and entertain us by creating the “soundtrack of our lives.”


This fun, delightful and heartfelt hour-long special will feature leading and iconic singers, composers, songwriters, actors, celebrity guests and others while celebrating glorious Film & TV Music moments with heart and humor. Donations to MusiCares COVID-19 Relief Fund will be encouraged throughout the show.

Composers and songwriters participating include (alphabetically): Michael Abels, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Angelo Badalamenti, Glen Ballard, Lesley Barber, Nathan Barr, Tyler Bates, Jeff Beal, Marco Beltrami, Alan Bergman, Terence Blanchard, Jongnic Bontemps, Kathryn Bostic, Kris Bowers, Jon Brion, Nicholas Britell, Bruce Broughton, BT, Carter Burwell, Sean Callery, Joshuah Brian Campbell, Lisa Coleman, John Debney, Tan Dun, Fil Eisler, Danny Elfman, Charles Fox, Germaine Franco, Harry Gregson-Williams, Hildur Gudnadóttir, Alex Heffes, Joe Hisaishi, James Newton Howard, Justin Hurwitz, Ashley Irwin, Mark Isham, Steve Jablonsky, Amanda Jones, Laura Karpman, Christopher Lennertz, Joe LoDuca, Robert Lopez, Mark Mancina, Gabriel Mann, Clint Mansell, Dennis McCarthy, Bear McCreary, Alan Menken, Bruce Miller, John Murphy, Starr Parodi, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Daniel Pemberton, Michael Penn, Heitor Pereira, Rachel Portman, Mike Post, A. R. Rahman, Tim Rice, Lolita Ritmanis, Dan Romer, Anna Rose, Jeff Russo, Arturo Sandoval, Lalo Schifrin, Marc Shaiman, Teddy Shapiro, Richard M. Sherman, David Shire, Rob Simonsen, Mark Snow, Tamar-kali, Dara Taylor, Pinar Toprak, Brian Tyler, Nick Urata, Benjamin Wallfisch, Diane Warren, Mervyn Warren, Paul Williams, Austin Wintory, Alan Zachary, Geoff Zanelli, Marcelo Zarvos, David Zippel, and Hans Zimmer.


Confirmed performers and special guests include Sting, Catherine O’Hara, Ming-Na Wen, Patti LuPone, William Shatner, Elisabeth Moss, “Weird Al” Yankovic, Marla Gibbs, Jane Levy, Mandy Moore, Richard Kind, Alex Newell, Zachary Levi, Paul Reubens, Kiernan Shipka, Harvey Fierstein, Ginnifer Goodwin, Anika Noni Rose, Kasi Lemmons, Ted Danson, Auli’i Cravalho, Darren Criss, Drew Carey, Ray Romano, Holly Hunter, Reba McEntire, Bob Saget, Ken Page, Lucy Lawless, Mary Steenburgen, Dave Coulier, Kevin Smith, Peter Gallagher, Naomi Scott, Annie Potts, Clive Davis, Jodi Benson, Harvey Mason Jr., Susan Egan, Paige O’Hara, John Stamos, Andra Day, and Rita Wilson.


Some highlights of the special:

  • Members of the Film & TV Music community deliver heartfelt messages of hope, solidarity & encouragement.


  • “Musicians!” – a humorous musical tribute to the Film & TV Music community featuring Zachary Levi, Patti LuPone, Alex Newell, “Weird Al” Yankovic, Peter Gallagher and Harvey Fierstein.


  • Tony Award winner and Disney Legend Anika Noni Rose highlights the history of African American composers, songwriters, and artists who have contributed to the Film & TV Music industry through the years.


  • Performers Danny Elfman, Catherine O’Hara, Paul Reubens and Ken Page reunite to perform a song from the film The Nightmare Before Christmas.


  • Eight-time Academy Award winning composer Alan Menken performs his timeless song, “A Whole New World,” alongside his daughter, Anna Rose, introduced by Aladdin (2019) stars Mena Massoud and Naomi Scott.


  • Stars from beloved animated features step out from behind the microphone to lend their voices to inspirational messages, featuring Irene Bedard, Jodi Benson, Auli’i Cravalho, Holly Hunter, Mandy Moore, Susan Egan, Ginnifer Goodwin, Linda Larkin, Paige O’Hara, Annie Potts, Anika Noni Rose and Ming-Na Wen.


  • John Stamos hosts “Name That TV Tune!” with celebrity panelists including Elisabeth Moss, Drew Carey, Ray Romano, Eve Plumb, Reba McEntire, Bob Saget, Dave Coulier, Marla Gibbs, Lucy Lawless and Kevin Smith competing to identify famous TV themes.


  • Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist actor Jane Levy invites us into the dreamworld of her Extraordinary Soundtrack Playlist.


  • Various performers, including members of the original cast of La La Land, sing a parody version of “Another Day of Sun.”


  • William Shatner explores how different scores can give the same film a different meaning as an exasperated director, played by Richard Kind, leads a composer in multiple directions for a short film starring Kiernan Shipka and Christian Coppola.


  • Songwriter Paul Williams performs his classic song “The Rainbow Connection,” from The Muppet Movie, joined by various special guests from the Film & TV Music community.


  • Tony- and Emmy-winner and seven-time Oscar® nominee Marc Shaiman performs an original song tribute to end title sequences.


You can enjoy this free event today, June 25 at 12:00 pm – PDT (21:00h – CEST) here:


SOUNDTRACK OF OUR LIVES is possible thanks to the many companies and organizations that have donated time, money, and resources to the execution of this project, including MusiCares, Rolling Stone, Variety, Alliance for Women Film Composers, Amazon Studios, Costa Communications, Encompass Music Creative, Enthrall Creative, Greenlight Creative, Warm Butter Design, White Bear PR, the Guild of Music Supervisors, the Society of Composers and Lyricists, Christine Bergren Music Consulting, SAG/AFTRA, Technicolor and many more.