Deutsche Grammophon editará ‘John Williams – Live in Vienna’ en Agosto 2020

ACTUALIZACIÓN (14/8/2020): Nuevo artículo con toda la información sobre el lanzamiento (tres versiones físicas: Standard / Deluxe y 2 LP), además de videos, y una reseña completa del concierto.

Mientras seguimos a la espera de una confirmación oficial por parte de Deutsche Grammophon, desde hoy por la mañana se están viendo múltiples enlaces en la red que confirman el lanzamiento el 14 de agosto de 2020, del histórico concierto dirigido por John Williams los días 18 y 19 de enero de 2020 en el Musikverein de Viena, interpretado por la Wiener Philharmoniker (Filarmónica de Viena) junto con la violinista solista Anne-Sophie Mutter.

Deutsche Grammophon editará ‘John Williams - Live in Vienna’ en Agosto 2020


La edición, que tendrá el nombre de ‘John Williams – Live in Vienna’, se editará en Blu-Ray con sonido Dobly Atmos, así como en CD-Audio y LP, teniendo el lanzamiento una versión ‘estándar’ y una versión ‘Deluxe’ (al igual que ya sucediera con el disco ‘Across the Stars’ de Williams-Mutter).



The legendary American film composer John Williams conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra for the first time – «Visit from the dear God» was the title of the standard, «standing upright jubilant choirs at their first appearance: as if God was received by earthly disciples John Williams in Vienna documents the historical performance – «a very special honour» in the life of the composer Symphonic Hollywood sounds on the stage of the Vienna Musikverein – the world-famous orchestra plays cult themes from Star Wars, Harry Potter, Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park and other milestones in film history Star guest Anne-Sophie Mutter with adaptations for violin arranged especially for her by Williams Star Wars, Harry Potter, Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park – the soundtracks of the master of cinematic magic John Williams are among the most popular in the history of film and have received numerous prestigious awards, including five Oscars, five Emmys, four Golden Globes and twenty-five Grammys.


Now the legendary American film composer has recorded the most famous, beautiful and touching cult themes for the first time with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. «Star moments of film music» was the headline of the Wiener Zeitung, «Hollywood’s grandmaster thrilled audiences with excerpts from his life’s work at the Vienna Philharmonic.»


Williams’ two concerts at the Vienna Musikverein on 18 and 19 January 2020 were the first performances the composer has ever conducted in continental Europe. Working with the Vienna Philharmonic was «a very special honour» in his life. In addition to Williams and the orchestra, another exceptional artist was on stage in the first half of the concert: Anne-Sophie Mutter. Thus the conductor and the violinist continued their artistic partnership after their joint album Across the Stars.


The new album «John Williams in Vienna» combines cult themes from E. T., Great White Shark, Star Wars, Harry Potter, Jurassic Park, Indiana Jones and other milestones in film history as well as two previously unreleased adaptations, specially arranged by Williams for Mother, for violin of «Devil’s Dance» from The Witches of Eastwick and «Raider’s March» from Indiana Jones: Hunters of the Lost Treasure. Of course, the world-famous «Imperial March» from Star Wars should not be missing. «One of the best performances of this march that I have ever heard,» Williams noted.


The limited Deluxe Edition «John Williams – Live in Vienna» is the only version that contains the unique concert experience on BluRay with additional 6 tracks. Including a breathtaking Dolby Atmos surround sound mix for the perfect concert experience at home (available as video and audio-only version) As a bonus: an interview by Anne-Sophie Mutter and John Williams from the Vienna Musikverein. The standard CD as well as BluRay disc is presented in a high-quality digipack in BluRay format with a noble gold foil look on the cover.


Los temas que se incluirán serán:

  1. The Flight To Neverland (From «Hook»)
  2. Excerpts (From «Close Encounters Of The Third Kind»)
  3. Devil’s Dance (From «The Witches of Eastwick»)
  4. Adventures On Earth (From «E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial»)
  5. Theme (From «Jurassic Park»)
  6. Dartmoor, 1912 (From «War Horse»)
  7. Suite (From «Jaws»)
  8. Marion’s Theme (From «Raiders Of The Lost Ark»)
  9. Main Title (From «Star Wars»)
  10. The Rebellion Is Reborn (From «Star Wars»)
  11. Luke & Leia (From «Star Wars»)
  12. Imperial March (From «Star Wars»)
  13. Raider’s March (From «Raiders Of The Lost Ark»)




Mientras llega el momento de dicho lanzamiento, podéis leer el artículo especial que escribimos sobre dichos conciertos aquí: