Deutsche Grammophon will release ‘John Williams – Live in Vienna’ in August 2020

UPDATE (14/8/2020): New article with full information about the release (three physical versions: Standard / Deluxe & 2 LP), plus videos, and a full concert review.

While we are still waiting for an official confirmation from Deutsche Grammophon, this morning we have started to find multiple links on the Internet that confirm the release on August 14, 2020, of the historic concert conducted by John Williams on 18th and 19th January 2020 at the Musikverein Wien in Vienna, performed by the Wiener Philharmoniker (Vienna Philharmonic) together with solo violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter.

Deutsche Grammophon will release ‘John Williams - Live in Vienna’ in August 2020


The edition, named ‘John Williams – Live in Vienna’, will be released on Blu-Ray with Dobly Atmos sound, as well as on CD-Audio and LP, having a ‘standard’ version and a ‘Deluxe’ version (as it happened with the album ‘Across the Stars’ by Williams-Mutter).



The legendary American film composer John Williams conducts the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra for the first time – “Visit from the dear God” was the title of the standard, “standing upright jubilant choirs at their first appearance: as if God was received by earthly disciples John Williams in Vienna documents the historical performance – “a very special honour” in the life of the composer Symphonic Hollywood sounds on the stage of the Vienna Musikverein – the world-famous orchestra plays cult themes from Star Wars, Harry Potter, Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park and other milestones in film history Star guest Anne-Sophie Mutter with adaptations for violin arranged especially for her by Williams Star Wars, Harry Potter, Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park – the soundtracks of the master of cinematic magic John Williams are among the most popular in the history of film and have received numerous prestigious awards, including five Oscars, five Emmys, four Golden Globes and twenty-five Grammys.


Now the legendary American film composer has recorded the most famous, beautiful and touching cult themes for the first time with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. “Star moments of film music” was the headline of the Wiener Zeitung, “Hollywood’s grandmaster thrilled audiences with excerpts from his life’s work at the Vienna Philharmonic.”


Williams’ two concerts at the Vienna Musikverein on 18 and 19 January 2020 were the first performances the composer has ever conducted in continental Europe. Working with the Vienna Philharmonic was “a very special honour” in his life. In addition to Williams and the orchestra, another exceptional artist was on stage in the first half of the concert: Anne-Sophie Mutter. Thus the conductor and the violinist continued their artistic partnership after their joint album Across the Stars.


The new album “John Williams in Vienna” combines cult themes from E. T., Great White Shark, Star Wars, Harry Potter, Jurassic Park, Indiana Jones and other milestones in film history as well as two previously unreleased adaptations, specially arranged by Williams for Mother, for violin of “Devil’s Dance” from The Witches of Eastwick and “Raider’s March” from Indiana Jones: Hunters of the Lost Treasure. Of course, the world-famous “Imperial March” from Star Wars should not be missing. “One of the best performances of this march that I have ever heard,” Williams noted.


The limited Deluxe Edition “John Williams – Live in Vienna” is the only version that contains the unique concert experience on BluRay with additional 6 tracks. Including a breathtaking Dolby Atmos surround sound mix for the perfect concert experience at home (available as video and audio-only version) As a bonus: an interview by Anne-Sophie Mutter and John Williams from the Vienna Musikverein. The standard CD as well as BluRay disc is presented in a high-quality digipack in BluRay format with a noble gold foil look on the cover.


Tentative tracklist:

  1. The Flight To Neverland (From “Hook”)
  2. Excerpts (From “Close Encounters Of The Third Kind”)
  3. Devil’s Dance (From “The Witches of Eastwick”)
  4. Adventures On Earth (From “E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial”)
  5. Theme (From “Jurassic Park”)
  6. Dartmoor, 1912 (From “War Horse”)
  7. Suite (From “Jaws”)
  8. Marion’s Theme (From “Raiders Of The Lost Ark”)
  9. Main Title (From “Star Wars”)
  10. The Rebellion Is Reborn (From “Star Wars”)
  11. Luke & Leia (From “Star Wars”)
  12. Imperial March (From “Star Wars”)
  13. Raider’s March (From “Raiders Of The Lost Ark”)




While the moment of the release arrives, you can read the special article we wrote about those concerts here: