20th anniversary album – ‘World Soundtrack Awards: Tribute to the Film Composer’

The 20th-anniversary edition of the World Soundtrack Awards festival, which will be celebrated online on Saturday 24th of October 2020 (read more), will dedicate its annual album to all thirteen winners of the coveted World Soundtrack Film Composer of the Year Award over the past two decades.


The album, entitled: ‘World Soundtrack Awards: Tribute to the Film Composer’ features newly recorded pieces with arrangements that have never before been released on CD, performed by the Brussels Philharmonic and the Vlaams Radiokoor led by maestro Dirk Brossé, recorded at Flagey’s legendary Studio 4 in Brussels (Belgium).

20th anniversary album - ‘World Soundtrack Awards: Tribute to the Film Composer’


With names such as Angelo Badalamenti, Nicholas Britell, Carter Burwell, Mychael Danna, Alexandre Desplat, Patrick Doyle, Michael Giacchino, Elliot Goldenthal, James Newton Howard, Alberto Iglesias, Jóhann Jóhannsson, John Williams, and Gabriel Yared on this special CD, the album will feature the premiere release of music for ‘Fear’ by Carter Burwell and ‘Troy’ by 2020 WSA Lifetime Achievement Award winner Gabriel Yared.


Two remarkable bonus tracks bookend the album: the premiere release of the World Soundtrack Awards Fanfare, written by Elmer Bernstein especially for the awards ceremony, and Tribute to the Film Composer, a fabulous homage arranged by John Williams that brings together no less than 23 different Oscar-winning or Oscar-nominated film themes.

Tracklist ‘World Soundtrack Awards: Tribute to the Film Composer’

  1. World Soundtrack Awards Fanfare (Elmer Bernstein)
  2. Red Sparrow Overture (James Newton Howard)
  3. Fear – Main Title (Carter Burwell)
  4. Hable con ella – Soy Marco (Alberto Iglesias)
  5. Cobb (Suite) – The Homecoming (Elliot Goldenthal)
  6. Troy (Suite) (Gabriel Yared)
  7. When at Last the Wind Lulled (Jóhann Jóhannsson & Rutger Hoedemaekers)
  8. Hook – The Face of Pan (John Williams)
  9. Succession (Suite) (Nicholas Britell)
  10. Monsoon Wedding (Suite) (Mychael Danna)
  11. The Imitation Game (Suite) (Alexandre Desplat)
  12. Murder on the Orient Express – Never Forget (Instrumental Version) (Patrick Doyle)
  13. Star Trek, into Darkness and Beyond (Suite) (Michael Giacchino)
  14. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me – The Voice of Love (Angelo Badalamenti)
  15. Tribute to the Film Composer (John Williams, arr.)


This album, licensed to Silva Screen Records and recorded by MotorMusic, will be released on 23 October 2020. You can pre-order a copy for 20 € here:



Promotional video: