World Soundtrack Awards 2017 – Winners

Tonight, 18th of October 2017, the 17th World Soundtrack Awards have been awarded in Ghent during a gala-concert dedicated to jazz music at the movies.


During the ceremony, Jóhann Jóhannsson has been presented Best Film Composer of the Year award and Rupert Gregson-Williams has won Best Television Composer of the Year award, while David Shire has received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his entire career, presented by his wife, the actress Didi Conn.

World Soundtrack Awards 2017 - David Shire (c) Piotr Wiśniewski


The complete list of nominees & winners is as follows:

Best Film Composer of the Year

  • Jóhann Jóhannsson – ‘Arrival’
  • Nicholas Britell – ‘Moonlight’
  • Justin Hurwitz – ‘La La Land’
  • Mica Levi – ‘Jackie’, ‘Marjorie Prime’
  • Dustin O’Halloran – ‘Lion’ (co-composed by Hauschka), ‘In the Shadow of Iris’ (co-composed by Adam Wiltzie)


Best TV Composer of the Year

  • Rupert Gregson-Williams – ‘The Crown’
  • Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein – ‘Stranger Things’
  • Ramin Djawadi – ‘Westworld’, ‘Prison Break: Resurrection’, ‘The Strain’
  • Dave Porter – ‘Better Call Saul’, ‘The Blacklist’, ‘The Blacklist: Redemption’, ‘Preacher’
  • Mac Quayle – ‘Feud: Bette & Joan’, ‘Mr. Robot’, ‘Scream Queens’


Best Original Song written directly for a Film

  • City of Stars from ‘La La Land’ – music by Justin Hurwitz, lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
  • Can’t Stop the Feeling from ‘Trolls’ – music & lyrics by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Shellback
  • How Far I’ll Go from ‘Moana’ – music & lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda
  • Never Give Up from ‘Lion’ – music & lyrics by Sia Furler and Greg Kurstin
  • Runnin’ from ‘Hidden Figures’ – music & lyrics by Pharrell Williams


Best Original Score for a Belgian Production

  • Jef Neve – ‘Speechless’
  • Jean-Luc Fafchamps – ‘Insyriated’
  • Johnny Jewel – ‘Home’


Discovery of the Year 2017

This award wants to reward and stimulate young international talented composers, who next to receiving a prize, will be invited to perform at the 2018 WSAwards ceremony.


  • Nicholas Britell – ‘Moonlight’
  • Michael Abels – ‘Get Out’
  • Dan Jones – ‘Lady Macbeth’
  • Rael Jones – ‘My Cousin Rachel’
  • Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka – ‘Lion’


SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young

Three young composers were assigned to compose a score for a selected scene from Bernardo Bertolucci’s ‘Il Conformista’, within the context of Film Fest Gent’s Italian focus of this year. The works will be shown at the festivals gala concert, and the nominees will have the opportunity of winning 2.500 Euro.


  • Gavin Brivik (US)
  • Andrea Grant (IT)
  • Jim David van der Panne (NL)


Public Choice Award

The nominees for this award have been chosen by popular vote on the festival’s internet site.


  • R. Rahman – ‘Viceroy’s House’
  • Jóhann Jóhannsson – ‘Arrival’
  • Diego Navarro – ‘Pasaje al amanecer’
  • Alejandro Vivas – ‘El jugador de ajedrez’
  • Michael Wandmacher – ‘Voice from the Stone’


After the awards ceremony a concert has been held, performed by Brussels Philharmonic, conducted by Dirk Brossé and accompanied by film fragments on screen, with jazz composer Terence Blanchard as central guest.


More information regarding this edition of the World Soundtrack Awards in SoundTrackFest: