Emmys 70th edition – Creative Arts – Winners

Last weekend (September 8-9), the 70th edition of the Creative Arts Emmys Awards ceremony was held, which includes the awards of the musical categories.


The winners were as follows (in bold):

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Game Of Thrones – The Dragon And The Wolf – Ramin Djawadi
  • Marvel’s Jessica Jones – AKA Playland – Sean Callery
  • Once Upon A Time – Leaving Storybrooke – Mark Isham, Cindy O’Connor, Michael Simon
  • SEAL Team – Pattern Of Life – W.G. Snuffy Walden, A. Patrick Rose,
  • Star Wars Rebels – Family Reunion – And Farewell – Kevin Kiner
  • Westworld – Akane No Mai – Ramin Djawadi


Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • March Of The Penguins 2: The Next Step – Cyrille Aufort
  • Alias Grace – Part 1 – Mychael Danna, Jeff Danna
  • The Commuter (Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams) – Harry Gregson-Williams
  • Crazy Diamond (Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams) – Cristobal Tapia De Veer
  • Godless – Carlos Rafael Rivera
  • USS Callister (Black Mirror) – Daniel Pemberton


Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

  • Godless – Carlos Rafael Rivera
  • The Last Tycoon – Mychael Danna
  • Marvel’s The Defenders – John Paesano
  • The Putin Interviews – Jeff Beal
  • Somebody Feed Phil – Mike S. Olson, Bridget Ellen Kearney, Michael Calabrese, Rachael Price
  • The Tick – Chris Bacon


Outstanding Music Supervision

  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Pilot Robin Urdang, Amy Sherman-Palladino, Daniel Palladino
  • Atlanta – Alligator Man – Jen Malone & Fam Udeorji
  • Stranger Things – Trick Or Treat, Freak – Nora Felder
  • This Is Us – That’ll Be The Day – Jennifer Pyken
  • Westworld – Akane No Mai – Sean O’Meara


Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics

  • Saturday Night Live – Music by Eli Brueggemann
  • Big Mouth – Music & Lyrics by Mark Rivers
  • A Christmas Story Live! – Music & Lyrics by Benj Pasek, Justin Paul
  • The Good Fight – Music & Lyrics by Jonathan Coulton
  • If You’re Not In The Obit, Eat Breakfast – Lyrics by Alan Bergman & Marilyn Bergman, Music by Dave Grusin
  • Steve Martin & Martin Short: An Evening You Will Forget For The Rest Of Your Life – Music & Lyrics by Steve Martin


Outstanding Music Direction

  • Tony Bennett: The Library Of Congress Gershwin Prize For Popular Song – Bounce Gregg Field
  • Bruno Mars: 24K Magic Live At The Apollo – Bruno Mars
  • Elton John: I’m Still Standing – A Grammy Salute – Davey Johnstone
  • The Oscars – Harold Wheeler
  • Super Bowl LII Halftime Show – Adam Wayne Blackstone



More information:




The ceremony for the rest of the categories of the Emmys (with a total of 110), will be held on Monday, September 17 at 8:00 pm (Eastern Time) / 5:00 pm Pacific Time at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California, will be co-hosted by Saturday Night Live’s Colin Jost and Michael Che, and will be broadcast live on the American television network NBC.