‘Merregnon: Land of Silence’ – World Premiere

The world premiere of the beautiful concert production ‘Merregnon: Land of Silence’ with newly composed music by Yoko Shimomura and orchestra arrangements by Jonne Valtonen, will take place on 10 September at Konserthuset Play (free to view), the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s Digital Concert Hall.

‘Merregnon: Land of Silence’ - World Premiere


‘Merregnon: Land of Silence’ is an original symphonic fairy tale, created for School and Family Concerts. Following in the tradition of timeless classics such as Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf and Saint-Saens’ Carnival of the Animals, it features exclusive music by internationally renowned composer Yoko Shimomura, known for her work on multi-million selling video games such as Super Mario RPG, Kingdom Hearts and Final Fantasy XV.


For ‘Merregnon: Land of Silence’, Yoko Shimomura has tailored a melody for each of the story’s characters. The score demonstrates a lavish diversity of sound and displays the various orchestral sections and soloists. Merregnon is a fantastical world of its own, painted with beautiful images, captivating melodies and symphonic sounds.


  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Andreas Hanson – conductor
  • Sofia Wilhelmina Mustaniemi – narrator


The music

  • Merregnon: Land of Silence
  • A Symphonic Fairy Tale by Yoko Shimomura
  • Arrangements by Jonne Valtonen
  • Duration 45 minutes


Excerpt – Merregnon: Land of Silence “The Messenger” performed by Mischa Cheung


Link to watch the concert on September 10th:



UPDATE: Added links to watch the concert for free




This concert was initially scheduled for Saturday, 13 March 2021, but had to be cancelled due to the pandemic:



More information: