Scoremagacine Awards 13th Edition – Winners

Yesterday, March 26th, the results of the 13th edition of the Scoremagacine Awards were announced, awards that are given by a good part of the Spanish specialized film musical critics, where composer Pascal Gaigne excelled when he won the Best National Soundtrack award for the ‘The Lighthouse of the Whales’ and the award for the Best National Composer (being this the third time he gets it in the last four editions).


The rest of awards, Best Foreign Soundtrack and Best Foreign Composer, both were for the Oscar-winning composer Justin Hurwitz for his work in La La Land.


The national awards, given to Pascal Gaigne, will be delivered in September in the next edition of FIMUCITÉ (more information about the festival in the following link), if his agenda and commitments allow it, where the Tenerife Symphony Orchestra will interpret In world premiere a suite of ‘The Lighthouse of the Whales’.


The complete list of nominees and winners (in bold) is as follows:


  • El faro de las orcas (Pascal Gaigne)
  • 1898, los últimos de Filipinas (Roque Baños)
  • El olivo (Pascal Gaigne)
  • Neruda (Federico Jusid)
  • Spain in a Day (Alberto Iglesias)
  • Un monstruo viene a verme (Fernando Velázquez)



  • La La Land (Justin Hurwitz)
  • Arrival (Jóhann Jóhannsson)
  • Nocturnal Animals (Abel Korzeniowski)
  • Passengers (Thomas Newman)
  • The BFG (John Williams)
  • The Witch (Mark Korven)



  • Pascal Gaigne (El faro de las orcas, El olivo, Embarazados, Circles & Stones)
  • Roque Baños (1898, Nuestros amantes, Risen, Don´t Breathe)
  • Arnau Bataller (El elegido, La noche que mi madre mató a mi padre, Summer Camp)
  • Alberto Iglesias (Spain in a Day, Julieta)
  • Federico Jusid (Neruda, La corona partida, Misconduct, Capitán Koblic)
  • Fernando Velázquez (Un monstruo viene a verme, Gernika, Ozzy, Zipi y Zape y la isla del capitán)



  • Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)
  • Alexandre Desplat (The Light Between Oceans, Florence Foster Jenkins, American Pastoral, The Secret Life of Pets, L´odysee)
  • Michael Giacchino (Doctor Strange, Rogue One, Star Trek Breyond, Zootopia)
  • Jóhann Jóhannsson (Arrival, Trapped, I blodet)
  • Abel Korzeniowski (Nocturnal Animals, Penny Dreadful)
  • Ennio Morricone (La corrispondenza)


More information about the jury, the voting and the previous phase of selection of works and composers, in the following link: