SoundTrack_Cologne 14 – Competitions and Life Achievement Award to Bruce Broughton

SoundTrack_Cologne 14 congress is starting in a few days, from August 23rd to 27th, 2017 in Cologne (Germany), and is going to host three competition contests and the presentation of the Life Achivement Award to composer Bruce Broughton, who will be attending the congress and will have a workshop about composing for film.


Let’s start with the three competitions: European Talent Award, Peer Raben Music Award and SEE THE SOUND Music Documentary Award, all of them to be celebrated on Saturday, August 26th.



The effect different scores can have on a film will be shown during the European Talent Competition, when 12 different score and sound design variations of the animated film “Little Thing” will be presented to audience and jury.


The event will be moderated by Yati Durant and jury-members are composer Claudius Brüse, sound designer Jef van Even, representing Chaussee SoundVision, music supervisor Robert Kraft, orchestra manager Corinna Rottschy as representative of the WDR Funkhausorchester and producer and CEO of Kontrastfilm Tidi von Tidemann.


The nominees are:

  • Marco Valerio Antonini, Italy (Score)
  • Thomas Chabalier, France (Score)
  • Stuart Douglas, UK (Score)
  • Thomas Gärtner, Germany (Score)
  • George Hunt, UK (Score)
  • Winfried Hyronimus, Germany (Score & Sound Design)
  • Jessica Kelly, UK (Score)
  • Emer Kinsella, Ireland (Score)
  • Fabian Kratzer, Germany (Score & Sound Design)
  • Friedhelm Mund, Germany (Score & Sound Design)
  • Alexander NikoleitLukas Piel, Germany (Score & Sound Design)
  • Danny Ryan, UK (Score)


For the score, the winner of the WDR FILMSCORE AWARD will have the opportunity to play his composition with the WDR Funkhaus Orchestra (award presented in cooperation with WDR and WDR Funkhaus Orchestra Cologne).

For the sound design, the prize of the EUROPEAN TALENT AWARD SOUND DESIGN will be a 5.1 Surround Short Mix in the Chausee SoundVision sound mixing studio in Cologne, donor of this award.


Competition screening will be held on August 26th, 10:00 am – 1:30 pm at the Fritz Thyssen Stiftung.

European Talent Award



This award commemorates the great German film composer Peer Raben, whose estate donated the prize money, to honor film scores with innovative and dramatically coherent use of music and sound in relation to the narrative.


In this year’s edition 9 films from 5 countries have been nominated, with nine film composers competing for the Peer Raben Music Award:

  • Martin Batchelar (UK) & Nathan Stornetta(CH) (Time Chicken, Director: Nick Black, UK)
  • Toni Martin Dobrzanski (DK) (Hecatomb, Director: Edward Andrews, Canada / Denmark / Mexico / UK)
  • David Hohl (Sunmilk, Director: Silvan Zweifel, Switzerland)
  • Martin B. Janssen (Still, Director: Adrien Boublil, USA)
  • Nicolai Krepart(State of Emergency, Director: Tarek Roehlinger, France/Germany)
  • Ioannis Moutzouris (Lucky Land, Director: Theodor Solin, UK)
  • Orlando Perez Rosso (Wishing Box, Director: Nan Li and Wenli Zhang, USA)
  • Sandra Stadler (The Devil’s Bridge of Uri, Director: Jochen Ehrmann, Switzerland)
  • Joseph Trapanese (Imbroglio, Director: Christopher Zatta, USA)


The jury, consisting of agent George Christopoulos, director Mareike Wegener and the film composer Gary Yershon, will remunerate the 1,500 Euros prize to the winner.

Competition screening will be held on August 26th, 2:30 pm – 5:00 pm at the Fritz Thyssen Stiftung.

Peer Raben Music Award



Within the scope of SEE THE SOUND, SoundTrack_Cologne’s film festival, the best music documentary will be awarded with 2,500 Euros. The jury consists of last year’s winner Yoon-ha Chang (I Go Back Home – Jimmy Scott), film critic Jessica Düster and director Nicole Wegener.


In the race for this year’s award are:

  • A Modern Man by Eva Mulvad
  • Bamseom Pirates Seoul Infernoby Jung Yoon-Suk
  • Cassette: A Documentary Mixtapeby Zack Taylor, Georg Petzold and Seth Smoot
  • Give me Future: Major Lazer in Cuba by Austin Peters
  • Liberation Day by Morten Traavik and Ugis Olte
  • Shot! – The Psycho-Spiritual Mantra of Rock by Barnaby Clay
  • Tokyo Idols by Kyoko Miyake
  • Quest by Jonathan Olshefski


The winners will be announced the evening of August 26th, 7:30 pm at SoundTrack_Cologne’s festive Award Ceremony, moderated by Ill – Yong Kim.




And finally, also within the festive Award Ceremony on the evening of August 26th, legendary film composer Bruce Broughton will be presented this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award of SoundTrack_Cologne.


10-time Emmy Winner Bruce Broughton has scored some of the most iconic TV series, with his melodies known to audiences all over the world. In his credits for television you can find recent Seth MacFarlane’s The Orville, but also JAG, Steven Spielberg’s Tiny Toon Adventures and Dinosaurs, or countless episodes of television series such as Dallas, Quincy, How the West Was Won and Hawaii Five-O.


With the first recorded orchestral score for the CD-ROM game Heart of Darkness, Broughton wrote game scoring history.  But besides the music for TV and games, Bruce Broughton is especially known for scoring many motion pictures that moved generations, such as Lost in Space, Young Sherlock Holmes, The Presidio, Miracle on 34th Street, Tombstone, or Silverado, for which he received an Academy Award nomination.


With the presentation of SoundTrack_Cologne’s Lifetime Achievement Award, Bruce Broughton joins the ranks of previous recipients: Cliff Martinez, Enjott Schneider, Eberhard Schoener, Manfred Eicher, Michael Nyman, Horst Peter Koll, Christian Bruhn, Irmin Schmidt and Peter Thomas.


On Friday, August 25th, during SoundTrack_Cologne’s “Film Day”, Bruce Broughton will have a masterclass from 4:30 pm to 6:00 pm at the Fritz Thyssen StiftungAmelie Thyssen Auditorium, where he will talk about his career, his working processes and his latest projects, being available for questions from the audience.

Bruce Broughton


The full program of SoundTrack_Cologne 14 can be found in the following links:

Congress –

Films –


Regular price for full accreditations is € 100 / € 40 for students, and day accreditations are available for € 50 / € 30 for students. Full accreditation includes the film program free of charge, and accreditations are available through the following link: