World Soundtrack Awards 2020 – Winners

Film music festival World Soundtrack Awards, celebrated on 24th of October the gala concert and award ceremony of its 20th edition, in an online version, broadcast for free over the Internet (read more).


Here you have the list of nominees and winners:


Best Film Composer of the Year

  • Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker
  • Alexandre Desplat, Little Women, J’accuse, Adults in the Room
  • Thomas Newman, 1917
  • Benjamin Wallfisch, It Chapter Two, The Invisible Man
  • John Williams, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker


Best TV Composer of the Year

  • Nicholas Britell, Succession (season 2)
  • Lorne Balfe, His Dark Materials
  • Nathan Barr, The Great, Hollywood, Carnival Row
  • Carter Burwell, The Morning Show
  • Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Watchmen


Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film

  • ‘Stand Up’, Harriet, Joshuah Brian Campbell & Cynthia Erivo
  • ‘I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away’, Toy Story 4, Randy Newman
  • ‘(I’m Gonna) Love Myself Again’, Rocketman, Elton John & Bernie Taupin
  • ‘Into The Unknown’, Frozen II, Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
  • ‘One Little Soldier’, Bombshell, Regina Spektor


Public Choice Award

  • Alfonso G. Aguilar, Klaus
  • Hannes De Maeyer, Torpedo
  • John Powell, The Call of the Wild
  • Lolita Ritmanis, Blizzard of Souls
  • Joep Sporck, Kruimeltje


Discovery of the Year

  • Bryce Dessner, The Two Popes
  • Dascha Dauenhauer, Berlin Alexanderplatz
  • Tom Howe, A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
  • Daniel Lopatin, Uncut Gems
  • Christopher Willis, The Personal History of David Copperfield


Best Original Score for a Belgian Production

  • Hannes De Maeyer, Torpedo
  • Vincent Cahay, Adoration
  • Mauro Pawlowski, Cleo


SABAM Award For The Most Original Composition By a Young International Composer

  • Ana Kasrashvili
  • Hamish Ander
  • Louis Edlinger


Also, Gabriel Yared received the Lifetime Achievement Award celebrating his whole career.


More information about the festival:


Official website:


#WSAwards #FFGent