Satellite Awards 21st edition – Winners


Yesterday Sunday 19th of February, the 21th edition of the Satellite Awards was held, organized by the International Press Academy (IPA),  which is focused on cinema, television and new media.


The absolute winner of the two musical categories was the soundtrack of La La Land composed by Justin Hurwitz, who collects awards non-stop wherever he appears, and that this Sunday 26th of February will surely win the Oscars (follow link for nominees).

Satellite Awards - Statuette


With a total of 37 nomination categories in the Satellite Awards, musically speaking, these have been the nominees / winners:

Original Score

  • Justin Hurwitz – La La Land
  • Rupert Gregson Williams – The Hacksaw Ridge
  • Lesley Barber – Manchester by the Sea
  • John Williams – The BFG
  • John Debney – The Jungle Book
  • Hans Zimmer, Pharrell Williams, Benjamin Wallfisch – Hidden Figures

Original Song

  • “City of Stars” – La La Land
  • “Audition” – La La Land
  • “Dancing with Your Shadow” – Po
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling” – Trolls
  • “I’m Still Here” – Miss Sharon Jones
  • “Running” – Hidden Figures


The complete list of nominees and winners can be found at the following link: