World Soundtrack Awards 2016 – Second wave of nominations

The World Soundtrack Academy has released a second wave of nominees for Discovery of the Year, the SABAM Award for Best Young International Composer and the Public Choice Award, following the nominations launched one month ago for Best Film Composer, Best TV Composer and Best Original Song.

As Artistic Director Patrick Duynslaegher said: ‘If you are looking for the next generation of great composers, you just have to look at the World Soundtrack Discovery Awards, where composers such as Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Craig Armstrong, Abel Korzeniowski and Daniel Pemberton were acknowledged early on in their careers.

Here is the list of the nominees:


The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talents, who have scored not more than six feature films (commercially released in theatres) in total. Besides receiving the award, the winner will perform at the 17th WSAwards in 2017. The nominees for Discovery of 2016 are:

  • Bear McCreary for ’10 Cloverfield Lane’ & ‘The Boy’
  • Ben Lovett for ‘Synchronicity’
  • Joe Kraemer for ‘Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation’
  • Nicholas Britell for ‘The Big Short’
  • Matthew Margeson for ‘Eddie the Eagle’


Each year a young film music talent is given the chance to receive the SABAM Award For Best Young International Composer (with a value of €2.500). The candidates were instructed to compose music for the opening titles of British TV series ‘The Saint’, starring Roger Moore, in the context of the focus on Television Music this year.

The professional jury consists of Patrick Duynslaegher (Artistic Director FFGent), Dirk Brossé (composer, conductor and Music Director FFGent), Stefan Rycken (manager ACE Image Factory), Hans Helewaut (Managing director SABAM) and director Eshref Reybrouck (‘Marsman’,‘Cordon’).

The 3 finalists for this year in the SABAM Award are:

  • Enrica Sciandrone
  • Nathan Glenn
  • Sándor Török


These are the 5 scores that were most voted for:

  • ‘Carol’by Carter Burwell
  • ‘Eddie the Eagle’by Matthew Margeson
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’by John Williams
  • ‘The Hateful Eight’ by Ennio Morricone
  • ‘The Man from U.N.C.L.E.’by Daniel Pemberton

WSA SABAM Award 2015 - Peer Kleinschmidt

The results will be announced during the 16th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards, Wednesday 19 October 2016 at Capitole Ghent, where also the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Ryuichi Sakamoto, following the festival’s spotlight on Japanese cinema.