World Soundtrack Awards 2018 – Nominees and Public Choice Award

Film music festival World Soundtrack Awards, that celebrates its 18th edition on Wednesday 17th and Thursday 18th of October, 2018 in Ghent (Belgium), has just announced the nominees for their annual awards ‘Best Film Composer of the Year’, ‘Best TV Composer of the Year’ & ‘Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film’.


Here you have the complete list of nominees:

Best Film Composer of the Year

  • Carter Burwell – ‘Goodbye Christopher Robin’; ‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’
  • Alexandre Desplat – ‘Endangered Species’; ‘Isle of Dogs’; ‘Suburbicon’; ‘The Shape of Water’; ‘Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets’
  • Jonny Greenwood – ‘Phantom Thread’
  • Jóhann Jóhannsson – ‘Last and First Men’; ‘Mandy’; ‘Mary Magdalene’ (co-composed with Hildur Guðnadóttir); ‘The Butcher, the Whore and the One-Eyed Man’; ‘The Mercy’
  • John Williams – ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’; ‘The Post’


Best TV Composer of the Year

  • Volker Bertelmann – ‘Gunpowder’ (as Hauschka); ‘Patrick Melrose’ (as Hauschka)
  • Ramin Djawadi – ‘Game of Thrones’ (S7); ‘The Strain’ (S4); ‘Westworld’ (S2)
  • Rupert Gregson-Williams – ‘The Alienist’ (S1); ‘The Crown’ (S2, co-composed with Lorne Balfe)
  • Mac Quayle – ‘9-1-1’ (S1, co-composed with Todd Haberman); ‘American Crime Story: The Assassination of Gianni Versace’; ‘American Horror Story’ (S7); ‘Mr. Robot’ (S3); ‘Pose’ (S1)
  • Adam Taylor – ‘Damnation’ (S1); ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ (S2)


Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film

  • Black Panther from ‘Black Panther’ – Music & lyrics by Kendrick Lamar, Kevin Gomringer, Tim Gomringer, Solana I Rowe, Matt Schaeffer, Mark Anthony Spears & Anthony Tiffith. Performed by Kendrick Lamar
  • Never Forget from ‘Murder on the Orient Express’ – Music by Patrick Doyle. Lyrics by Kenneth Branagh. Performed by Michelle Pfeiffer
  • Remember Me from ‘Coco’- Music & lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez. Performed by Benjamin Bratt
  • Stand up for Something from ‘Marshall’ – Lyrics by Diane Warren and Common. Music by Diane Warren. Performed by Andra Day ft. Common
  • This is me from ‘The Greatest Showman’ – Music & lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul – Performed by Keala Settle & The Greatest Showman Ensemble


Finally, remember that the Public Choice Award, which is granted during the festival each year by popular vote, is available at the following address where anyone can cast a vote until Friday, September 7th, 2018:


More information about the festival:


Official website:


#WSAwards #FFGent