71st Annual Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards – Winners

The 71st Annual Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremony was held over two nights on September 14 and September 15, 2019 at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, just one week before the Emmy Awards (read news).


These are the winners of the music categories awarded on Sunday 15/9:

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Game Of Thrones – ‘The Long Night’ – Ramin Djawadi
  • Barry – ‘What?!’ – David Wingo
  • House of Cards – ‘Chapter 73’ – Jeff Beal
  • The Handmaid’s Tale – ‘The Word’ – Adam Taylor
  • This Is Us – ‘Songbird Road: Part One’ – Siddhartha Khosla


Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Chernobyl – ‘Please Remain Calm’ – Hildur Guðnadóttir
  • Escape At Dannemora – ‘Episode 5’ – Edward Shearmur
  • Good Omens – ‘In The Beginning’ – David Arnold
  • True Detective – ‘The Final Country’ – T Bone Burnett, Keefus Ciancia
  • When They See Us – ‘Part Two’ – Kris Bowers


Outstanding Music Supervision

  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – We’re Going To The Catskills! – Robin Urdang, Amy Sherman-Palladino, Daniel Palladino
  • Better Call Saul – Something Stupid – Thomas Golubić
  • Fosse/Verdon – Life Is A Cabaret – Steven Gizicki
  • Quincy – Jasper Leak
  • Russian Doll – Nothing In This World Is Easy – Brienne Rose


These are the winners of the music categories awarded on Saturday 14/9 (read more):

Outstanding Music Composition For A Documentary Series Or Special (Original Dramatic Score) – NEW CATEGORY THIS YEAR!

  • Free Solo – Marco Beltrami, Brandon Roberts
  • Game Of Thrones: The Last Watch – Hannah Peel
  • Hostile Planet – Oceans – Benjamin Wallfisch
  • Love, Gilda – Miriam Cutler
  • Our Planet – Steven Price
  • RBG – Miriam Cutler


Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics

  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend – I Have To Get Out – ‘Antidepressants Are So Not A Big Deal’ – Music & Lyrics Adam Schlesinger, Rachel Bloom, Lyrics by Jack Dolgen
  • Documentary Now! – Original Cast Album: Co-op – ‘Holiday Party (I Did A Little Cocaine Tonight)’ – Music by Eli Bolin, Lyrics by John Mulaney, Seth Meyers
  • Flight Of The Conchords: Live In London – ‘Father & Son’ – Music & Lyrics Bret McKenzie, Jemaine Clement
  • Saturday Night Live – Host: James McAvoy – ‘The Upper East Side’ – Music by Eli Brueggemann, Lyrics by Bryan Tucker, Leslie Jones
  • Song Of Parkland – ‘Beautiful Things Can Grow’ – Music by Mark Sonnenblick, Lyrics by Ashley Paseltiner, Molly Reichard
  • 72nd Annual Tony Awards – ‘This One’s For You’ – Music & Lyrics Sara Bareilles, Josh Groban


Outstanding Music Direction

  • Fosse/Verdon – Life Is A Cabaret – Alex Lacamoire
  • Aretha! A Grammy Celebration For The Queen Of Soul – Rickey Minor
  • Homecoming: A Film By Beyoncé – Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, Derek Dixie
  • The Oscars – Rickey Minor
  • Q85: A Musical Celebration For Quincy Jones – Part 1 – Greg Phillinganes
  • Saturday Night Live – Host: Adam Sandler – Lenny Pickett, Leon Pendarvis, Eli Brueggemann


FXX network will broadcast these awards on Saturday, Sept. 21 at 8:00 PM ET/PT, just one day before the main ceremony of the Emmy Awards, which will be held on Sunday, September 22.


2019 Creative Arts Winners:




71st Emmy Awards Complete Nominations List: