Emmys 71st edition – Nominees

Yesterday, Tuesday, July 16, the nominees for this year’s Emmy Awards were announced, which are already in their 71st edition. There, Game of Thrones got a total of 32 nominations counting all the categories, thus breaking the record of nominations of a series for a single season, previously obtained by NYPD Blue 25 years ago.


Nomination-wise, Game of Thrones is followed by The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (20), Chernobyl (19), Saturday Night Live (18), Barry (17), Fosse/Verdon (17) and When They See Us (16).


The Emmys are annual awards given by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in recognition to the excellence of professionals in the television industry.


These awards are divided into more than 110 categories, highlighting at the musical level the following ones:

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Barry – ‘What?!’ – David Wingo
  • Game Of Thrones – ‘The Long Night’ – Ramin Djawadi
  • House of Cards – ‘Chapter 73’ – Jeff Beal
  • The Handmaid’s Tale – ‘The Word’ – Adam Taylor
  • This Is Us – ‘Songbird Road: Part One’ – Siddhartha Khosla


Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Chernobyl – ‘Please Remain Calm’ – Hildur Guðnadóttir
  • Escape At Dannemora – ‘Episode 5’ – Edward Shearmur
  • Good Omens – ‘In The Beginning’ – David Arnold
  • True Detective – ‘The Final Country’ – T Bone Burnett, Keefus Ciancia
  • When They See Us – ‘Part Two’ – Kris Bowers


Outstanding Music Composition For A Documentary Series Or Special (Original Dramatic Score) – NEW CATEGORY THIS YEAR!

  • Free Solo – Marco Beltrami, Brandon Roberts
  • Game Of Thrones: The Last Watch – Hannah Peel
  • Hostile Planet – Oceans – Benjamin Wallfisch
  • Love, Gilda – Miriam Cutler
  • Our Planet – Steven Price
  • RBG – Miriam Cutler


Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

  • Castle Rock – Thomas Newman
  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend – Rachel Bloom, Jack Dolgen, Adam Schlesinger
  • Good Omens – David Arnold
  • Our Planet – Steven Price
  • Succession – Nicholas Britell


Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics

  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend – I Have To Get Out – ‘Antidepressants Are So Not A Big Deal’ – Music & Lyrics Adam Schlesinger, Rachel Bloom, Lyrics by Jack Dolgen
  • Documentary Now! – Original Cast Album: Co-op – ‘Holiday Party (I Did A Little Cocaine Tonight)’ – Music by Eli Bolin, Lyrics by John Mulaney, Seth Meyers
  • Flight Of The Conchords: Live In London – ‘Father & Son’ – Music & Lyrics Bret McKenzie, Jemaine Clement
  • Saturday Night Live – Host: James McAvoy – ‘The Upper East Side’ – Music by Eli Brueggemann, Lyrics by Bryan Tucker, Leslie Jones
  • Song Of Parkland – ‘Beautiful Things Can Grow’ – Music by Mark Sonnenblick, Lyrics by Ashley Paseltiner, Molly Reichard
  • 72nd Annual Tony Awards – ‘This One’s For You’ – Music & Lyrics Sara Bareilles, Josh Groban


Outstanding Music Direction

  • Aretha! A Grammy Celebration For The Queen Of Soul – Rickey Minor
  • Fosse/Verdon – Life Is A Cabaret – Alex Lacamoire
  • Homecoming: A Film By Beyoncé – Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, Derek Dixie
  • The Oscars – Rickey Minor
  • Q85: A Musical Celebration For Quincy Jones – Part 1 – Greg Phillinganes
  • Saturday Night Live – Host: Adam Sandler – Lenny Pickett, Leon Pendarvis, Eli Brueggemann


Outstanding Music Supervision

  • Better Call Saul – Something Stupid – Thomas Golubić
  • Fosse/Verdon – Life Is A Cabaret – Steven Gizicki
  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – We’re Going To The Catskills! – Robin Urdang, Amy Sherman-Palladino, Daniel Palladino
  • Quincy – Jasper Leak
  • Russian Doll – Nothing In This World Is Easy – Brienne Rose


The extensive and complete list of nominees can be found at the following links:




The ceremony, which will be held on Sunday, September 22 at 8:00 pm (Eastern Time) / 5:00 pm Pacific Time at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California, and will be broadcast live on the American television network FOX.


Complementarily, the ceremony for the Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held on Saturday, September 21, and will be broadcasted by FXX.