Emmys 70th edition – Nominees

Yesterday, Thursday July 12, the nominees for this year’s Emmy Awards, which are already in their 70th edition, were been announced. There, Games of Thrones got a total of 22 nominations, followed by Saturday Night Live and Westworld with 21 nominations each.


The Emmys are annual awards given by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in recognition to the excellence of professionals in the television industry.


These awards are divided into more than 110 categories, highlighting at the musical level the following ones:

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Game Of Thrones – The Dragon And The Wolf – Ramin Djawadi
  • Marvel’s Jessica Jones – AKA Playland – Sean Callery
  • Once Upon A Time – Leaving Storybrooke – Mark Isham, Cindy O’Connor, Michael Simon
  • SEAL Team – Pattern Of Life –G. Snuffy Walden, A. Patrick Rose,
  • Star Wars Rebels – Family Reunion – And Farewell – Kevin Kiner
  • Westworld – Akane No Mai – Ramin Djawadi


Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Alias Grace – Part 1 – Mychael Danna, Jeff Danna
  • The Commuter (Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams) – Harry Gregson-Williams
  • Crazy Diamond (Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams) – Cristobal Tapia De Veer
  • Godless – Carlos Rafael Rivera
  • March Of The Penguins 2: The Next Step – Cyrille Aufort
  • USS Callister (Black Mirror) – Daniel Pemberton


Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

  • Godless – Carlos Rafael Rivera
  • The Last Tycoon – Mychael Danna
  • Marvel’s The Defenders – John Paesano
  • The Putin Interviews – Jeff Beal
  • Somebody Feed Phil – Mike S. Olson, Bridget Ellen Kearney, Michael Calabrese, Rachael Price
  • The Tick – Chris Bacon


Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics

  • Big Mouth – Music & Lyrics by Mark Rivers
  • A Christmas Story Live! – Music & Lyrics by Benj Pasek, Justin Paul
  • The Good Fight – Music & Lyrics by Jonathan Coulton
  • If You’re Not In The Obit, Eat Breakfast – Lyrics by Alan Bergman & Marilyn Bergman, Music by Dave Grusin
  • Saturday Night Live – Music by Eli Brueggemann
  • Steve Martin & Martin Short: An Evening You Will Forget For The Rest Of Your Life – Music & Lyrics by Steve Martin


Outstanding Music Direction

  • Bruno Mars: 24K Magic Live At The Apollo – Bruno Mars
  • Elton John: I’m Still Standing – A Grammy Salute – Davey Johnstone
  • The Oscars – Harold Wheeler
  • Super Bowl LII Halftime Show – Adam Wayne Blackstone
  • Tony Bennett: The Library Of Congress Gershwin Prize For Popular Song – Bounce Gregg Field


Outstanding Music Supervision

  • Atlanta – Alligator Man – Jen Malone & Fam Udeorji
  • The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – Pilot Robin Urdang, Amy Sherman-Palladino, Daniel Palladino
  • Stranger Things – Trick Or Treat, Freak – Nora Felder
  • This Is Us – That’ll Be The Day – Jennifer Pyken
  • Westworld – Akane No Mai – Sean O’Meara


The extensive and complete list of nominees can be found at the following links:




The ceremony, which will be held on Monday, September 17 at 8:00 pm (Eastern Time) / 5:00 pm Pacific Time at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California, will be co-hosted by Saturday Night Live’s Colin Jost and Michael Che, and will be broadcast live on the American television network NBC.


Complementarily, the ceremony for the Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held the previous weekend over two nights, on September 8 and September 9, 2018, and will be broadcasted by FXX on September 15. The goal of these awards is the recognition of technical and other similar achievements in American television programming, including guest acting roles.