Emmys 69th edition – Nominees

Yesterday, Thursday June 13, the nominees for this year’s Emmy Awards, which are already in their 69th edition, were been announced. There, Saturday Night Live and Westworld got a total of 22 nominations, followed by Feud: Bette And Joan and Stranger Things with 18 nominations each and Veep with 17 nominations.


The Emmys are annual awards given by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in recognition to the excellence of professionals in the television industry.


These awards are divided into more than 110 categories, highlighting at the musical level the following ones:

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score)

  • The Crown – Rupert Gregson-Williams
  • House Of Cards – Jeff Beal
  • Planet Earth II – Jacob Shea & Jasha Klebe
  • A Series Of Unfortunate Events – James Newton Howard
  • Taboo – Max Richter
  • Victoria – Martin Phipps, Ruth Barrett & Natalie Holt


Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or Special (Original Dramatic Score)

  • Fargo – Jeff Russo
  • FEUD: Bette And Joan – Mac Quayle
  • Five Came Back – Jeremy Turner
  • J.: Made In America – Gary Lionelli
  • Suite Française – Rael Jones
  • The White Helmets – Patrick Jonsson


Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music

  • FEUD: Bette And Joan – Mac Quayle
  • Genius – Hans Zimmer & Lorne Balfe
  • The Good Fight – John David Buckley
  • Stranger Things – Michael Stein & Kyle Dixon
  • Victoria – Martin Phipps
  • Westworld – Ramin Djawadi


Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics

  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend– Music & Lyrics by Adam Schlesinger, Lyrics by Rachel Bloom & Jack Dolgen
  • Duck The Halls: A Mickey Mouse Christmas Special- Music & Lyrics by Christopher Willis, Lyrics by Darrick Bachman & Paul Rudish
  • Jimmy Kimmel Live– Music & Lyrics by Jonathan Kimmel & Barry Greenberg
  • Saturday Night Live– Music by Eli Brueggemann, Lyrics by Chancelor Johnathan Bennett, Kenan Thompson & Will Stephen
  • 13th – Music & Lyrics by Common, Music by Robert Glasper & Karriem Riggins
  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt– Music by Jeff Richmond, Lyrics by Tina Fey & Sam Means


Outstanding Music Direction

  • American Epic – The American Epic Sessions– Bernard MacMahon, Duke Erikson, Jack White & T Bone Burnett
  • Joshua Bell: Seasons Of Cuba (Live From Lincoln Center)– David Lai
  • Stayin’ Alive: A Grammy Salute To The Music Of The Bee Gees– Rickey Minor
  • Super Bowl LI Halftime Show Starring Lady Gaga– Michael Bearden
  • Taking The Stage: African American Music And Stories That Changed America– Rickey Minor
  • Tony Bennett Celebrates 90: The Best Is Yet To Come– Tom Scott


Outstanding Music Supervision

  • Better Call Saul – Thomas Golubić
  • Big Little Lies – Susan Jacobs
  • Girls – Manish Raval, Jonathan Leahy & Tom Wolfe
  • Master Of None – Zach Cowie & Kerri Drootin
  • Stranger Things – Nora Felder

The extensive and complete list of nominees can be found at the following links:




The ceremony, which will be held on Sunday, September 17 at 8:00 pm (Eastern Time) / 5:00 pm Pacific Time at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, California, will be hosted by TV presenter and comedian Stephen Colbert, and will be broadcast live on the American television network CBS.


Complementarily, the ceremony for the Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held the previous weekend over two nights, on September 9 and September 10, 2017, and will be broadcasted by FXX on September 16. The goal of these awards is the recognition of technical and other similar achievements in American television programming, including guest acting roles.