Grammy Awards 59th edition – Nominees

The last month of the year comes full of lists of nominations for different awards, and in this case, the well-known Grammy Awards have just been announced, that are held annually by the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences granting excellence in recording achievements.

59 Grammy Awards


Divided into a total of 84 very varied categories, we could highlight the following:

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media

  • Thomas Newman – Bridge Of Spies
  • Ennio Morricone – Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight
  • Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – The Revenant
  • John Williams – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein – Stranger Things Volume 1
  • Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein – Stranger Things Volume 2


Best Instrumental Composition

  • Thomas Newman – Bridge Of Spies (End Title)
  • Tim Davies – The Expensive Train Set (An Epic Sarahnade For Double Big Band)
  • Alan Ferber – Roots & Transitions (Flow)
  • Ennio Morricone – Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight (L’Ultima Diligenza Di Red Rock – Versione Integrale)
  • Ted Nash – Presidential Suite: Eight Variations On Freedom (Spoken At Midnight)


Best Musical Theater Album

  • Bright Star
  • The Color Purple
  • Fiddler On The Roof
  • Kinky Boots
  • Waitress


Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media

  • Amy
  • Miles Ahead
  • Straight Outta Compton
  • Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition)
  • Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1


Best Song Written For Visual Media

  • Max Martin, Shellback & Justin Timberlake – Trolls (Can’t Stop The Feeling!)
  • Tyler Joseph – Suicide Squad (Heathens)
  • Oscar Holter, Max Martin, P!nk & Shellback – Alice Through The Looking Glass (Just Like Fire)
  • Shamann Cooke, Sonny Moore & William Roberts – Suicide Squad (Purple Lamborghini)
  • Mikkel S. Eriksen, Sia Furler & Tor Erik Hermansen – Zootopia (Try Everything)
  • Peter Gabriel – Snowden (The Veil)


As you can see, just as it happened with the Oscars this year, maestros Ennio Morricone and John Williams will compete again for the best soundtrack of the year, and the intrigue of what will happen on this occasion remains, as earlier the Oscar went to Italian Ennio Morricone.


The complete list of nominees can be found at the following link:


The ceremony will be held on Sunday, February 12th, 2017 – 8:00 pm at the Staples Center in Los Angeles (California), and will be presented by James Corden who’s in charge of the well-known American television program The Late Late Show.