Joe Hisaishi – Music Future Vol 9 – Concerts in Tokyo & New York

Composer, conductor, and pianist Joe Hisaishi, known for his scores in the Studio Ghibli films of Hayao Miyazaki, presents the next installment in his Music Future series, ‘Music Future Vol. 9’ to be performed in Tokyo, Japan and New York, USA, in the following weeks.


Conducted by Joe Hisaishi and pianist Nico Muhly, this program features premieres by Hisaishi and Muhly performed by violist Nadia Sirota.

Joe Hisaishi - Music Future Vol 9 - Concerts in Tokyo & New York



  • Conductor – Joe Hisaishi
  • Piano – Nico Muhly
  • Viola – Nadia Sirota
  • Chamber music – Music Future Band (Japan performances)
  • Chamber music – Bang On A Can Festival Ensemble (New York performance)
    • Comprised of local New York musicians, members of Bang on a Can All Stars, and alumni of the Bang on a Can Summer Music Festival.


The program:

  • JOE HISAISHI – 2 Dances for Large Ensemble
  • NICO MUHLY – Selections from Drones & Viola
  • NICO MUHLY – Roots, Pulses for Chamber Orchestra
  • JOE HISAISHI – Viola Saga – Viola Concerto [World Premiere]
  • NOTE: Young Composer’s Competition Excellent Award, “Gimmick Bach 3” by Tetsuya Yamamoto, will be performed at “Joe Hisaishi Presents Music Future Vol. 9” on October 26 and 27.


A brief history of MUSIC FUTURE series by Joe Hisasihi:

  • In 2014, Joe Hisaishi started his extremely unique concert series ‘MUSIC FUTURE’ where he personally hand selects the repertoire in hopes of introducing new composers to the Japanese public. The first of the concert series, ‘Vol.1’ in 2014 saw him introduce the works of Arvo Part and Henryk Gorecki as well as two of his new minimalistic compositions. He also performed music by Nico Muhly, a renowned post-classical composer – A genre seemingly popular with the younger generation in recent days.
  • In ‘Vol.2’ (2015) he performed Steve Reich’s ‘Octet’, John Adams’ ‘Chamber Symphony’ and his own work, this time with largely monophonic features, including ‘Single Track Music 1 for 4 Saxophones & Percussion’ and ‘Chamber Symphony’ for six-string electric violin.
  • ‘Vol.3’ (2016) included a programme of works by Pulitzer Prize winner, David Lang and ‘Chamber Symphony No. 1 in E major, Op. 9’ by Austrian composer Arnold Schoenberg.
  • ‘Vol.4’ (2017) introduced Gabriel Prokofiev’s ‘String Quartet No. 2’ and Hisaishi’s own composition ‘Chamber Symphony No. 2 – The Black Fireworks’ performed on Bandoneon by Kazuma Miura.
  • ‘Vol.5’ (2018) he invited soloists Maya Beiser (cello) and Molly Netter (soprano). In this year, he also joined forces with his great friend David Lang which saw him perform not only in Tokyo but also in New York.
  • In ‘Vol.6’ (2019) where he welcomed the world-renowned piano duo, Maki Namekawa and Dennis Russell Davies. He also performed his own compositions again and Philip Glass’‘Piano Sonata’ which created a huge buzz in Japan.
  • In ‘Vol.7’ (2020), he introduced a piece by Nico Muhly who couldn’t come to Japan due to the influence of the pandemic
  • ‘Vol.8’ in 2021 introduced pieces such as Bryce Dessner and Lepo Sumera.
  • In 2022, Joe Hisaishi will celebrate the 9th of these amazing, ever-evolving concert series ‘MUSIC FUTURE’.



When: Wednesday, October 26 & Thursday, October 27, 2022 at 19:00h

Where: Kioi Hall (Tokyo, Japan)

Tickets: 6900 JPY (47 €) –



When: Saturday, November 5, 2022 at 19:30h

Where: Carnegie Hall (New York, NY, USA)

Tickets: $ 59-99 (60-100 €) –

Facebook Event:


Official website: