Wojciech Kilar Award for Howard Shore

Howard Shore will be the recipient of the third edition of the Wojciech Kilar Award, named in honor of the late Polish composer, that is presented annually at the Krakow Film Music Festival (FMF).

Wojciech Kilar Award - Logo


This award was previously granted to Elliot Goldenthal (2015) and Alexandre Desplat (2016), and this year’s decision was hard, as Howard Shore competed with Lalo Schifrin, Dario Marianelli, Joe Hisaishi and Shigeru Umebayashi.


A versatility of genres, faithfulness to the traditional art of composing, efficient use of an individual and recognizable musical language, creative use of sound colors – these are the outstanding features of composing technique that influenced the decision of the organization to honor Howard Shore with the Wojciech Kilar Award.


Howard Shore, that is one of the many guests of the festival’s 10th anniversary, as it was shown in the following news (read article), will receive the award on the 20th of May 2017, during the “All Is Film Music” Jubilee Gala at Kraków TAURON Arena.

Howard Shore