Grammy Awards 59th edition – Winners

Yesterday, Sunday February 12th, the Grammy Awards were held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles (California), which are already in their 59th edition, and that are held annually by the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences granting excellence in recording achievements.

59 Grammy Awards


John Williams won his 23rd Grammy in the Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media category, turning the result of the 2016 Oscars, where it was Ennio Morricone who snatched the prize in the equivalent category.


Divided into a total of 84 very varied categories, the most remarkable results are the following:

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media

  • John Williams – Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Thomas Newman – Bridge Of Spies
  • Ennio Morricone – Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight
  • Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – The Revenant
  • Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein – Stranger Things Volume 1
  • Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein – Stranger Things Volume 2


Best Instrumental Composition

  • Ted Nash – Presidential Suite: Eight Variations On Freedom (Spoken At Midnight)
  • Thomas Newman – Bridge Of Spies (End Title)
  • Tim Davies – The Expensive Train Set (An Epic Sarahnade For Double Big Band)
  • Alan Ferber – Roots & Transitions (Flow)
  • Ennio Morricone – Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight (L’Ultima Diligenza Di Red Rock – Versione Integrale)


Best Musical Theater Album

  • The Color Purple
  • Bright Star
  • Fiddler On The Roof
  • Kinky Boots
  • Waitress


Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media

  • Miles Ahead
  • Amy
  • Straight Outta Compton
  • Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition)
  • Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1


Best Song Written For Visual Media

  • Max Martin, Shellback & Justin Timberlake – Trolls (Can’t Stop The Feeling!)
  • Tyler Joseph – Suicide Squad (Heathens)
  • Oscar Holter, Max Martin, P!nk & Shellback – Alice Through The Looking Glass (Just Like Fire)
  • Shamann Cooke, Sonny Moore & William Roberts – Suicide Squad (Purple Lamborghini)
  • Mikkel S. Eriksen, Sia Furler & Tor Erik Hermansen – Zootopia (Try Everything)
  • Peter Gabriel – Snowden (The Veil)


The complete list of nominees and winners can be found at the following link: